Your Daily and Dependable Local Sports Source
Positively Promoting High School Athletics in Southeast Indiana

Tigers Steve Bradley receives IBCA Transformational Coach award

Four Indiana high school coaches will receive special awards from the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association in 2021 according to this release provided by Pat McKee of the IBCA.

Lawrenceburg boys basketball assistant coach Steve Bradley and Brownsburg girls head coach Debbie Smiley each will be recognized with a Point Guard College Transformational Coach Award as presented by the IBCA. In addition, Edinburgh boys basketball assistant Jim Higdon and Penn girls basketball assistant Hassan Abdullah will receive awards as IBCA Assistant Coaches of the Year.

This is the fifth year for the PGC Transformation Coach Awards, which are presented to coaches who have impacted the lives of their players and fellow coaches at their school and within their community. The recipients are coaches who are respected by their players and fellow coaches for their dedication, positive approach and integrity on and off the court. Point Guard College is a corporate partner of the IBCA.

This is the fourth year that the IBCA is recognizing assistant coaches with an award. The awards are going to two coaches who have contributed in a significant way to their respective schools’ athletic programs with many years of service.

These awards will be presented at the IBCA’s one-day, in-person clinic on Oct. 16 at Lawrence North High School in Indianapolis. The IBCA also will offer a “virtual clinic” in 2021 with video presentations by the IBCA District Coaches of the Year — six boys coaches and six girls coaches — available online beginning April 23.

Previous PGC Transformational Coach Awards have gone to Gary Cook of North Decatur in 2017; Gary West’s Chris Buggs and Switzerland County’s Adam Dennis in 2018; John Glenn’s Travis Hannah in 2019; and Columbus North’s RaNae Isaak and Speedway’s Jim Merlie in 2020.

Previous IBCA Assistant Coach of the Year honors have gone to Union County’s Roger Bowling in 2018; Jeffersonville’s Clark Miles and Crawfordsville’s Danny Pierce in 2019; and North Putnam’s Jim Brothers and Hamilton Heights’ J.R. Moffatt in 2020.

Story continues.

Keep reading this story: 1 2 3

Powered by WordPress | T-Mobile Phones for Sale at | Thanks to Free Phones at, Free MMORPG Games and Fat burning furnace review