Your Daily and Dependable Local Sports Source
Positively Promoting High School Athletics in Southeast Indiana

Spartans’ Garrison, Lady Eagles’ Carroll earn HBCA scholarships

The Executive Board of the Hoosier Basketball Coaches Association has announced the organization’s scholarship awards will be named after two of the organization’s founding members – Coach Jack Butcher and Coach Carolyn Pieper.

A member of the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame Jack Butcher coached his alma mater, Loogootee High School for 45 years, winning 806 games.  He was the driving force behind the launch of the HBCA, serving the organization as Executive Director for a number of years.

Carolyn Pieper is a pioneer for girls basketball in the state of Indiana, serving as a coach for many years.  She was a member of the founding board of the HBCA, serving the organization as Girls All – Star Director for 30 years.

The HBCA has awards eight $500 scholarships each year to deserving seniors nominated by their coach and principal. The 2020 recipients are listed below.

Carolyn Pieper Scholarship Award (GIRLS)
Ali Barber – Washington
Jacqulin Gerkin – Orleans
Regan Carroll – Jac-Cen-Del
Riley Eder – Columbus North

Jack Butcher Scholarship Award (BOYS)
Aidan Neel – Gibson Southern
Clay Garrison – Connersville
Kaden Boyd – Barr-Reeve
Parker Sullivan – Paoli

SEI Local Sports thanks Jac-Cen-Del girls’ basketball coach Scott Smith for forwarding the scholarship announcements.

Powered by WordPress | T-Mobile Phones for Sale at | Thanks to Free Phones at, Free MMORPG Games and Fat burning furnace review